Encountering loneliness

A discussion on Sytem of a down’s song: Lonely day
(The LONELY DAY LYRICS are the property of the respective authors, artists and labels, the lyrics are provided for educational purposes only)

Such a lonely day
And it’s mine
The most loneliest day in my life

Such a lonely day
Should be banned
It’s a day that I can’t stand

The most loneliest day of my life
The most loneliest day of my life

Such a lonely day
Shouldn’t exist
It’s a day that I’ll never miss

Such a lonely day
And it’s mine
The most loneliest day of my life

And if you go,
I wanna go with you
And if you die,
I wanna die with you
Take your hand and walk away

The most loneliest day of my life
The most loneliest day of my life
The most loneliest day of my life

Such a lonely day
And it’s mine
It’s a day that I’m glad I survived

Questions for discussion ( Samuel Thambusamy)

  • What is this song about?
  • How would you describe a “lonely day”? What would a lonely day be like?
  • Humanity’s biggest challenges are facing Loneliness, Uncertainty and Guilt. What is the best way to face loneliness?
  • How can we bring ‘meaning’, ‘happiness’ and ‘fulfillment’ into everyday life?
  • At the end of a lonely day, are you happy that you survived? What would you tell yourself?
  • If you had written the song, would you have written it differently? why?
  • What do you learn from this song?
One Response to “Encountering loneliness”

  1. loneliness is a hateful feeling! and I doubt it is something that can be shrugged off. I remember a song by westlife

    ‘Loneliness is always looking for a friend
    It found me once and it has been around since then
    Loneliness is never waiting by the door
    It sneaks right through, and it will never be ignored’

    its a feeling that is guaranteed to torture you in your moment of happiness, “but you still havent found someone who you can share the moment with!” which translates then to “noone cares about”……

    anyways, I would like to see th answers to the best way t face loneliness.

    regarding questions, a lonely day, is a day when i feel extremely happy, or totally jobless, but noone to share that with… i do tell people who say there’s God, ‘hey look, God doesnt materialise in front of you, and whatever conversations you can have with God, is more imagined answers’…

    how to bring meaning happiness, etc, sorry, Im too at the edge of my wits to answer that without appearing depressed, which I amnt!

    survived? oh its passe these days!

    any differently? but then, what are the options… i cant kill myself out of loneliness, whatever else, you have survived… and you dont need to make a great effort to survive loneliness… (thats my interpretation of the last line)

Leave a Reply

