The circle of Life

by Samuel Thambusamy

We all want to live our lives fully and ‘meaningfully’. And yet, we don’t reflect on Life’s meaning.

We are like cabbages. We cover/ bury/ silence our questions regarding the  meaning of life. We experiment with

  • philosophy to fill the mind
  • pleasure to fill the body
  • Money to fill our pockets
  • Entertainment to fill our time
  • religion to fill our spirit
  • Toys to fill our sorrow
  • Lifestyle to fit our social standing.

And yet, at the end of the day,we only end up as our neighbors envy.

We still face the question: Life! What’s the point?

  • Has your life been joyfully received and celebrated?
  • What were the times when you felt that life had no meaning?
  • How did you feel?
  • How did you deal with such a situation?
  • How did you struggle against it and finally rise above it?

We need to uncover the layers that we have put around ourselves. In many ways, Spiderman symbolizes the struggles that we all go through. Spiderman/Peter Parker’s moment of truth dawns when he is told:

“I believe there is a hero in all of us, that keeps us honest, gives us strength and makes us noble, and finally allows us to die with pride even though we have to give up the things we want the most, even our dreams.”

When we are grasped by the gospel, we are grasped by meaning and purpose in life. Our context requires/demands heroes and heroines of faith – courageous self-sacrificing people setting examples. The gospel keeps us honest, gives us strength and makes us noble and finally allows us to die with pride, even though we have to give up things we want the most, even our dreams.

Don Moen’s song: Lord I offer my life to you makes a lot of meaning.

All that I am, all that I have
I lay them down before you, oh Lord
All my regrets, all my acclaims
The joy and the pain, I’m making them yours

Things in the past, things yet unseen
Wishes and dreams that are yet to come true
All of my heart, alll of my praise
My heart and my hands are lifted to you

Lord, I offer my life to you
Everything I’ve been through
Use it for your glory
Lord I offer my days to you
Lifting my praise to you
As a pleasing sacrifice
Lord I offer you my life

It is by living the power of the gospel that we find answers to the question of meaning in life. Not coincidently Jesus said, “The one who finds life will lose it; and the one who loses life for my sake will find it” (Mt. 10:39). This till day remains the key to understanding the meaning and purpose of life.

Life! What’s the point? If we are grasped by the power of the gospel, we have a jumpstart. Isn’t it reassuring to know that we don’t have to ‘hang up’ or ‘just hang in there’ we can live and live it ‘meaningfully’.

Leave a Reply

